Government entities' New Zealand Business Numbers and eInvoicing status

This list is updated on an ongoing basis to reflect the entities' current status.

Government entities able to receive eInvoices

Government entities New Zealand Business Number
Accident Compensation Corporation 9429041900253
Buller District Council 9429041899960
Christchurch City Council  9429000003339
Department of Conservation 9429000028295
Department of Corrections 9429041904909
Department of Internal Affairs 9429041904916
Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet CROWN 9429310614300
Department of The Prime Minister and Cabinet 9429041904923
Education Review Office 9429041901809
External Reporting Board 9429041902059
He Pou a Rangi Climate Change Commission 9429050347780
Inland Revenue Department 9429041926024
Kāinga Ora–Homes and Communities 9429047717602
Land Information New Zealand 9429000003711
Ministry for Culture and Heritage 9429041908846
Ministry for Culture and Heritage CROWN 9429310614331
Ministry for the Environment 9429041908853
Ministry for Women 9429041908860
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment 9429000106078
Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment CROWN 9429310665692
Ministry of Defence 9429041908877
Ministry of Education 9429041908884
Ministry of Health 9429000082440
Ministry of Housing and Urban Development 9429047143937
Ministry of Justice 9429041908907
Ministry of Social Development 9429000062299
Ministry of Transport 9429041908921
New Zealand Customs Service 9429041909867
New Zealand Infrastructure Commission/Te Waihanga 9429047977785
New Zealand Police 9429041909966
NIWA 9429032543292
Office for Maori Crown Relations – Te Arawhiti 9429047535442
Pāmu (Landcorp Farming Limited) 9429039618191
Privacy Commissioner 9429041913161
Public Service Commission 9429041921548
Public Service Commission CROWN 9429310614317
Serious Fraud Office 9429041915349
Social Wellbeing Agency 9429046891341
Te Puni Kokiri (Ministry of Māori Development) 9429041919729
Te Taura Whiri i te Reo Māori (the Māori Language Commission) 9429041919804
The Treasury 9429041920244
The Treasury CROWN 9429310614263
Waipa District Council 9429041922514
Wellington City Council 9429000017527
Westland District Council 9429041923603
Whaikaha – Ministry of Disabled People 9429050679881

Government agencies not yet able to receive eInvoices

Government entities New Zealand Business Number Status
Crown Law Office 9429041904718 eInvoice receive capable in July 2024
Government Communications Security Bureau 9429041903223 eInvoice receive capable date TBC
Ministry for Pacific Peoples 9429041908914 eInvoice receive capable date TBC
Ministry for Primary Industries 9429000096157 eInvoice receive capable in May 2024
Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade 9429041908891 eInvoice receive capable in June 2024
New Zealand Security Intelligence Service 9429041910030 eInvoice receive capable date TBC
Oranga Tamariki 9429046196057 eInvoice receive capable date TBC
Statistics New Zealand 9429000014489 On track for FY24 (June 2023)
Last updated: 01 March 2024